Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Let's talk

I certainly won't bore you with delving into the monotonous life of Al with every detail, life issue, etc. I have always been bored listening to people carry on and on about how difficult it is. It seems that people love to hear themselves bitch. We like to call it "bitchin to complain" in the business. Some people are just so miserable, that they have to bitch just for the sake of complaining. My soup is not quite hot enough, there isn't enough alcohol in my drink, his steak is not the same size as mine, yada yada yada. Usually....the soup is plenty hot, the booze is the right amount, and you dumbass...we weigh every freakin steak! Usually, when I find someone like this, I will microwave the soup until it is boiling, pour enough alcohol into the drink to light it on fire, or I will serve them a porterhouse the size of Iowa! Kidding....Truthfully, I dont't really care about the people that are difficult. You just can't help them all!!

I have a few simple mantras I live by, that keep me out of trouble. 1. Go with what you know! If you don't make any decisions based on theory or heresay....you pretty much will never screw up. It's kind of like the speed limit thing. I know the speed limit is 55 mph, and if I drive the speed limit I will never get pulled over for speeding. Maybe not a great example because I speed all the time, but when I am working in the restaurant...it is my golden rule. I know if I serve good food, with great service, and have a pretty good concept....I know I will keep chugging along. I am not saying I do not take risks (I have taken some pretty big ones in my life), but as long as you have good facts behind the risk...you will be ok. I always tend to step on the gas when everyone else slams on the brakes! When the economy is down, most people freak out like a huge snow storm is on the way! By every last piece of toilet paper, get fifteen gallons of milk, we need thirty shovels! Christ...does that not piss anyone else off? You might be snowed in for 1 or 2 days. I know I love a good milk binge every once in a while!! Sorry for another digression...I do it a lot. If the rest of the world is driving so slow and worrying about hitting a car next to them, or changing lanes to be safer, so on....I tend to floor it and get in the fast lane. I cannot worry about the guy next to me, who is worrying about the guy next to him, who is worrying about the guy next to him...so on. Worrying is like a rocking chair....it is something to do, but it will not getcha anywhere. Plus, I would rather do the hitting, then get hit by someone else. That's all for today....who cares, no one is listening yet anyways. On the blog I mean...no one following. But I am totally cool with that!

No comments:

Post a Comment